Transfers

IMG_1580.PNG

A barren summer with no international competitions means betting options are limited to Europa Qualifiers and meaningless friendlies.

The essence of the enjoyment of betting stems from a feeling of deep prescience as well as a flux of sudden wealth.


I don’t know anybody who actively bets on transfers and from my experience in the bookies, I know it is pretty much exclusively an online experience. Transfers are usually either really obvious or totally random. But I am determined to profit off this market.
I backed Giroud to go to Paris on the basis that he is hugely marketable, we all know transfers are about a players economic capital potential, and apparently isn’t keen on new signing Lacazette. He proudly plays for his country, is irrefutably attractive, and I can’t see Wenger selling him to another prem side, although Everton rumours persist. And they have been most the profligate shoppers in the transfer market thus far.
At 25/1, it’s certainly worth a punt, but a probable waste of my money.

I call him “Fluky Giroud” because although he produces moments of occasional brilliance, see his Scorpion kick against Palace at the beginning of Jan 2017 and his aerial ability and his capacity to show up in the big games. He can also be crap and is very inconsistent. Given that Arsenal bought him for apparently a mere £9.4m, he’s been a bargain buy for Arsenal.

I did my bet with Sky, whom I deem to be the best out of my online betting apps. Ladbrokes are offering 16/1 on this whilst I have just seen Paddy Power, whose website and app I hate, so I seldom use, is offering 50/1. I will absolutely kick myself in the event that this unlikely seeming transfer happens.

 

Leave a Reply

